10th Annual General Meeting of Bayside U3A Incorporated

The meeting was held at Beaumaris Community Centre at 12:00pm on Thursday 16th March 2023.

1. Welcome:

President David Hone welcomed all attendees and declared the meeting open at 12:05pm.

Numbers Present: As per attendance sheets held by the Secretary it was advised that more than 110 members had signed. A recount after the meeting noted it was a total of 121 Members in attendance of which 113 were entitled to vote.

Guests included:

James Newbury - Member for Brighton

Cynthia Paciocco - Network U3A

Randy Marshall & Peter Grigg - Kingston U3A

Branko Colavizza – Port Phillip U3A

2. David Hone introduced Cynthia Paciocco from Network U3A to say a few words: Cynthia spoke to her involvement in U3As and now at Network U3A. She then outlined some of the services that Network provide for member U3Aa, and the changes in progress. These include providing information on areas such as Copywright, provision of insurance via VMIA, supply and support of the UMAS webite and data base facility. She also highlighted a new Network Data Base system and that Network U3A was in the process of restructuring and welcomed feedback from anyone.

3. Apologies:

The Secretary advised that apologies were received from the following:

Hanna El Mouallem – Mayor, Bayside CC

Judy Page – Healthy Aging Community Development Officer, Bayside CC

Katrina Wotherspoon – Healthy Aging Community Development Officer, Bayside CC

Kate Knight – Manager, Hampton Community Centre

Brad Roswell – State Member for Sandringham

Laurie Evans – Councillor, Bayside CC

52 apologies were advised received and documented from Members and all apologies were accepted. As apologies were received close to the meeting a recount indicates this number can now be revised to 55.

4. Proxies:

The Secretary advised that 133 proxies had been received and documented from members entitled to vote. A recount indicated this figure is actually 136.

5. Declaration of Quorum

The quorum required for the meeting is the presence either physically or by proxy of 10% of the members entitled to vote. 130 members were required which has been exceeded. The quorum was met so the AGM continued.

6. Resolution to confirm the Minutes of the previous annual general meeting held on Thursday 24th March 2022.

It is moved that this meeting confirm the minutes of the previous annual general meeting held on Thursday 24th March 2022.

Moved:

D Hone

Seconded:

S Steele

Carried

7. Annual Report of Bayside U3A Inc – President, David Hone

Copies of the report were made available to the members prior to the meeting. The report was summarized by President David Hone.

David spoke to a few points on his report, including the need for succession planning and highlighting the recovery after Covid with thanks for the work done by Tony Aplin during that time. It was noted we now have face to face and hybrid classes available and the Speakers program. Last year's 10th Birthday lunch and other functions were also mentioned. The grant from the Bendigo Bank to enable Air Purifiers in indoor areas was mentioned and Trish Smyth thanked for organizing this. The introduction of UMAS was then commented on along with the work done by Sue Steele and Chris Logan to implement it. All the tutors were thanked and Sue Newton for organizing the Newsletter. An important reminder was that everyone is a volunteer and needs to be treated with courtesy and respect.

David then thanked retiring Committee members:

Judy Sinclair who has been a member of the committee for over 10years, including 7 years as Secretary. She was also on the original Steering Committee.

Carol Sieker who has been secretary since 2020.

8. Financial Statements of Bayside U3A Inc – Treasurer, Robin Douglas

The Treasurer, Robin Douglas presented the financial statements and the report for the period 1 January 2022 to 31 December 2022. Copies of these were made available to the members prior to the meeting.

Robin spoke to the current financial situation and the surplus built up both during Covid and the support from Bayside CC. This will now be utilised to carry out required major maintenance work. He highlighted that fees are not anticipated to change and have only changed once in the last 10 years.

It was moved that the financial reports be accepted as a true reflection of our financial situation.

Moved: R Doualas

Seconded: D Hone

Carried

9. Resolution to extend the term of office of members of the Committee of Management It is resolved that the term of office be extended (as per By-law Number 8.3) for any committee member who is re-elected at the AGM and who has already served more than two additional terms.

Moved: S Steele

Seconded: D Hone

Carried

10. Resolution to set the number of general members of the Committee of Management It is resolved that the number of ordinary members on the Committee of Management be set at fourteen for the 2023-2024 year as per Model Rule 53(1) and By-law 8.1.

11. Election of Committee for 2023-2024

The President vacated the Chair and was replaced by Bayside U3A member, Martin Playne. He advised that the Secretary had received 1 nomination in writing for the position of President, but that persons could also be nominated from the floor.

President:

A nomination had been received for David Hone. There being no other

nominations, he was elected unopposed.

David Hone then continued with the rest of the election:

Vice President:

No nominations have been received.

Secretary:

A nomination has been received for Chris Birch. There being no other

nominations, he was elected unopposed.

Treasurer:

A nomination has been received for Robin Douglas. There being no

other nominations, he was elected unopposed.

General Committee (14 positions):

The following 13 nominations had been received by the Secretary: Karen Hall, Tony Aplin, Stephen le Page, Vladimir Metter, Alina Skoutarides, Sue Steele, Trish Smyth, Mary Downie, John Nurse, Richard Potter, Bruce King, Sandra Groves, Warwick Harding.

David Hone called for any further nominations from the floor.

As there are 14 positions and 13 nominations, David Hone declared the 13 persons named above elected as General Committee Members unopposed.

12. Thank you to others

A vote of thanks was proposed to Chris Logan for her vital work as Office Team Leader keeping both offices running smoothly. Thanks, were also extended to all involved in organizing, setting up and volunteering for the AGM.

Questions or comments from the floor - there were none. 13.

14. **Closing of Meeting**

The meeting closed at 12:35pm.

Signed:

Chris Birch Secretary

Date: 19th April 2023